Official Series Partners sera bientôt de retour pour lancer sa saison 2021

Rally Islas Canarias 2021

Rally Islas Canarias 2021 - 18-20/11/2021

 20h30, Thursday November 18, Podium Zone, Gran Canaria Stadium
Finishes: 17h15, Saturday November 20, Podium Zone, Gran Canaria Stadium
Headquarters: Gran Canaria Arena, Fondos de Segura, s/n, 35019 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
ERC appearances (since 2004 restructuring): 6 (2013, 2016-2020)
Stages: 17
Stage distance: 197.29 kilometres
Liaison distance: 371.04 kilometres
Total distance: 568.33 kilometres
Surface: Asphalt
Free Practice (for priority drivers): 12h15-14h15, Thursday November 18, Telde (2.94 kilometres)
Qualifying Stage (for priority drivers): 15h03, Thursday November 18, Telde (2.94 kilometres)
Shakedown (for all drivers): 16h15-18h15, Thursday November 18, Telde (2.94 kilometres)

The rally in 100 words: With the stages climbing and descending at a frequent rate, drivers pay close attention to corner speed and lines to ensure optimal momentum is maintained, while precise car set-up and pacenote accuracy are also vital. One of the notable features of the sealed stages is the abrasive surface, constructed partly from volcanic lava. It means grip levels are high and remain constant if it rains, although tyre wear can increase in dry conditions. However, with the opportunity to take ‘cuts’ through corners limited, the roads remain relatively debris-free. The 2021 ERC season finale doubles as this challenging rally’s 45th edition.

Event eligibility: ERC1, ERC2, ERC3, ERC Junior, ERC3 Junior, European Rally Championship for Teams, Abarth Rally Cup

The route in short: The opening leg on Friday November 19 features twin visits to Valsequillo (11.91 kilometres), San Mateo (13.86 kilometres), Tejeda (13.66 kilometres) and Santa Lucía (12.94 kilometres), plus one run through the 1.53-kilometre Las Palmas de Gran Canaria street stage, which rounds out the first day’s action. Saturday’s deciding leg consists of two visits to Arucas (7.18 kilometres), Moya (12.96 kilometres) and Valleseco (14.56 kilometres), while there are two versions of the Telde stage – Telde Tradición del Motor (10.39 kilometres) and Telde Ciudad Deportiva (11.11 kilometres).

Recent winners:
2020: Adrien Fourmaux/Renaud Jamoul (Ford Fiesta R5 MkII)
2019: Pepe López/Borja Rozada (Citroën C3 R5)
2018: Alexey Lukyanuk/Alexey Arnautov (Ford Fiesta R5)
2017: Alexey Lukyanuk/Alexey Arnautov (Ford Fiesta R5)
2016: Alexey Lukyanuk/Alexey Arnautov (Ford Fiesta R5)

Five facts:
1: Run for the first time in 1977 as Rally El Corte Inglés, Gran Canaria’s largest shopping centre and event sponsor, the rally became part of the Spanish championship in 1979.
2: Elevation to European championship coefficient 10 status followed in 1982 before it became a fully-fledged round in 2013. The rally has been ever-present on the ERC roster since 2016.
3: Renamed Rally de Canarias and relocated to the south of Gran Canaria for 2002, the event returned to Las Palmas in 2004. The Rally Islas Canarias title was adopted for 2009 ahead of a move to the Intercontinental Rally Challenge from 2010.
4: The rally boasts a number of prominent former winners including Didier Auriol, Piero Liatti and Carlos Sainz, who claimed five consecutive victories in the 1980s.
5: Islas Canarias comes from the Latin Insula Canaria, or Island of the Dogs, which were believed to be a type of monk seal, while a dish of choice in the Canary Islands is ropa vieja, made from chicken, beef, potatoes and beans.


LasPalmas - 26 May
20° 18°

Broken Clouds